Rock and Roll Hall of Fame ceremony announces return to Brooklyn

LL Cool J is the only artist representing New York City in the 2019 list of Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominees.

The Queens rapper, a five-time nominee, is among 15 total performers eyeing spots at the Barclays Center ceremony taking place next spring. Joining him on the ballot are six first-timers: Stevie Nicks, Def Leppard, Todd Rundgren, John Prine, Roxy Music and Devo.

Janet Jackson, first nominated in 2016, is also up for induction again after her 2015 comeback album “Unbreakable.” Bands Radiohead and Rage Against the Machine made the list for the second year in a row, after being passed up for the honor in 2018.

The nomination list only includes artists (or bands) who released their first commercial

recording at least 25 years ago. A group of 1,000 artists, historians and members of the music industry will weigh in on which of the nominees will go down in rock and roll history. Six nominees are typically chosen.

For LL Cool J, the fifth time might be the charm. Fans can back the performer of their choice by voting for the nominees at through Dec. 9. The five artists with the most public votes will make it onto a “fan ballot,” giving them a boost when it comes time for the experts to make the final cut.

The list of inductees is slated to be released in December.

Want to watch along while the 2019 inductees join the ranks of Billy Joel (1999), Aerosmith (2001), AC/DC (2003), Tupac Shakur (2017) and hundreds of other artists? Here’s what you’ll need to know about the ceremony.